Supplier Rating: Michi Calica (entourage)

Michi was a delight to meet and work with in the beginning. She’s really one of the nicest people you’ll ever meet and she has a very impressive boutique in New Manila/Greenhills. My mom and I were impressed with her instantly and she really sells her products and services quite well. Unfortunately, she went on maternity leave and wasn’t as present as I would have liked her to be.

Out of 5 stars, I give her a 2.

Let’s distinguish between Michi and her staff. Her staff I give a -1 star rating. The only person who I felt was efficient and had it together at her store was her all-around cleaning lady/modista (Luz?) – the person who would pin together the loose parts or identify my desired hemline… the one who would offer me water or usher me to the changing area. She had it together. But I can’t tell you enough the amount of stress that her store managers put me through, especially as it came closer to their delivery dates. I actually saved all of my correspondence with them and looking back at it, I still can’t believe that dresses were switched, bridal records were mistaken (for example, someone from her shop texted me the night before the wedding if it was ok that my bridesmaid’s dress was delivered the following week because of car coding issues – this was the night before our wedding and just 1 day after I went to the shop with the bridesmaid to finalize everything… so I of course found out that they had the wrong record connected to the dress. I found this out cos I asked them to read me my groom’s name… “Brian” daw).

I’m lucky because my entourage looked fantastic in the different pink and red dresses:

maidsimage.jpg

And in the end, everything worked out, despite another major glitch which I don’t feel like airing out because there’s already enough negativity on personal blogs nowadays. But if someone were to ask me if I would go through the stress of dealing with her staff again, I would have to say that I certifiably would not.

Brides are just worried about their dresses and their entourage dresses – beyond the aesthetics (a given) are of course things like customer service, logistics and follow-thru. I didn’t get any of these from her staff and I wouldn’t want to wish that experience on any other brides out there.

I’m not discouraging anyone from seeing her gowns and designs. In fact, I am encouraging you all to see them as she has some fantastic gowns on display. But as soon as you start sensing that things are falling apart (complaints from your entourage about fittings, switched dresses), call Michi right away and nip it in the bud before it snowballs into something big come closer to your wedding day.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment