Updates

I know, I know, it’s been 6 days since our last entry. But a lot has been going on since we came back from the long weekend!

1) MUSIC. We heard Aquarela at their CD launch at Shang Mall and although they were musically and technically spot-on, we think that their appeal is to a more mature crowd. Definitely buy their album cos it’s the kind of music that you want to play over a dinner with friends, or on a lazy Sunday morning. But we are looking for a band that will bring the house down for our wedding.

A friend of ours, Irene, who is the vocalist for Chubibo, recommended Guarana. They played at her wedding and she said that they were entertaining, and that Eileen Sison even taught everyone how to samba, and had a conga line goin’ on at some point! This kind of festive performance is definitely something we want for our reception so we’re going to check them out on Tuesday at Cafe Havana.

2) FRIENDS. We got a chance to see our Jakarta friends (including Erwin, who has finally resurfaced!) last weekend for a surprise party. And one of our favorite little tots was there! She’s the daughter of our friend, Ana, and has got to be one of the most adorable little girls you’ll ever meet. So adorable that she’s the new face behind Johnson & Johnson’s no more tears campaign – and the photog (at least for the spread in the Star, Good Housekeeping, Smart Parenting, and Working Mom) is none other than my very talented fiancee! Claps!

Our group baby making lambing to Jay the entire time. Apparently she really likes facial hair. Cute.

jay-amelie-gi.jpg

Jay and Erwin (with Jamie in the background sneaking in some food)

erwin-and-jay.jpg

(sorry for low res shots, just taken with my phone cam)

3) ANDREA & WENDY. My maids of honor have started e-mailing me about the bridal shower and the bachelorette. Just preliminary questions so they can start planning and contacting the invitees both here and abroad. They are so put together, these two. And are so enthused about the whole thing! I am very lucky to have them by my side throughout all of this. I feel quite blessed, I can’t say that enough.

I’ve also been getting e-vite reminders for my friend, Nicole’s, bachelorette in Playa del Carmen, Mexico. Unfortunately, since it’s in Mexico and it’s in July, I won’t be able to go. However, we’re all set to head on over to her wine country wedding in October! I’ll be a bridesmaid along with the other Pangkor girls. Sonoma, here we come!

4) HEALTH. One of the reasons that I haven’t gotten a chance to blog is because I am getting my butt kicked in Bikram Yoga, the only studio (in 2 locations – Salcedo Village and Tomas Morato) in Manila that’s sanctioned by Bikram himself, and only has Bikram certified instructors. Flexibility wise, it’s fine because I used to dance. But mentally, it’s a whole different ball game. I am literally having to fight-off panic attacks as I ease myself into camel pose. The heat, the sweat, the chatter in my head – all of that I fight to let go of for 90 minutes. Waiting to hear from a potential employer – let it go. Wedding planning – let it go. Smelly guy next to me – let it go. Claustrophobia – let it go. Letting go is hard work.

Jay has also started his boxing and basketball sessions, so we are motivating each other throughout this process, keeping ourselves hydrated and rested and supporting each other after a not-so-great practice. We talked about it a couple of nights ago and our health is definitely one of those things that we are willing to invest in – whether it’s through a monthly membership at a studio or a gym or whatever. Personally speaking, I am so tired of getting sick. My stomach hasn’t gotten used to Manila and I’ve been here for 2 years!

After all is said (by doctors, parents, friends) and done, I know that I need to detoxify – not just with what I eat, but with my surroundings and environment as well. So I am just laying low, taking it easy, surrounding myself with positivity, and staying committed to Bikram, which has helped me gain some focus, discipline, perspective, and a sense of commitment, attributes that I’ve been lacking.

Anyways, I am going to let go of this entry now and leave you with this fantastic video that, at first, Jay and I started implementing into our lives as a joke – a big joke – but now, we know why there are laughter clubs all over the world. 🙂 🙂 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Friends, What's Up

Leave a Reply

