Girlfriends + Printsonalities + Bob Nicolas + Videos

Yesterday was insanely busy but sososo worth it. I had lunch with Charley, a friend from Jakarta who has also decided to move back to Manila and who also just got engaged (YAAAAY!!!). She is turning out to be more and more of a kindred spirit as I get to know the adult ‘her,’ if that makes any sense. We had a long lunch and exchanged wedding prep stories and it felt really good to share, empathize and commiserate. My fingers are crossed for her and her fiancee as they go about trying to book a reception in Baguio. She gasped at the total price that was printed on the quotes from Printsonalities (much like I did when I opened up Noky’s e-mail… actually, I squinted and made sure there were really that many digits in the total price) when I showed her sample contracts, etc., thus far from our suppliers. We also talked about a potential ‘racket’ that we can do in the near future but we’re going to do a bit more research about our product.

And out of all things, I found out that Lori of dessertcomesfirst.com is actually Charley’s sister! Talk about serendipity. I go to that site a lot and we got to talking about photographers, she said her sister takes great food shots and has a site/blog, and when she said the website I nearly fell out of my chair. Charley is Lori’s little sister pa la! All these years I’ve known Charley and I only found this out now. I think her ates are much older than her, though. Anyways, I digress.

That night, I also met-up with Chesa and Dan at Chesa’s house for some vino and good conversation. I ended up coming home at 230 am, but it was worth it cos we had a lot to catch up on, esp with Dan as I haven’t gotten a chance to see her since her official return to Manila, either. Chesa and I think that Dan is going to get engaged next! I’m betting on August or September. They just attended a wedding that afternoon and they were really sweet in giving me points and suggestions from what they liked at the wedding. They recommended a videographer, Bob Nicolas; click on his name/link to view work samples and to see his rates click here.

We ended up looking at Jason Magbanua, Bob Nicolas and Threelogy videos at the end of the night πŸ™‚ and all were excellent, but I guess what makes a tremendous difference is the song choice. And for dramatic flair, I think Jay and I will request not to have too many quick cuts. I like the pacing of Threelogy’s Rain & Camille video (February 22, 2007), just right siya. Sometimes it’s good to linger in the moment.

I was sifting through YouTube and found this video of Lea Salonga’s wedding/bridal march. She looks gorgeous in her Monique Lhuillier gown, which I was actually eyeing (I like the top, not so crazy about the tiered/cake-like bottom but it looks great on her). I think I actually really like the length of her veil. I was against having something over my face but hers looks ok. We’ll see πŸ™‚ So sweet this video, her husband starts sobbing πŸ™‚ I saw them a couple of weeks ago, they were sitting behind us in church. Throughout the hymns I was thinking, ‘damn, girl behind me has got some pipes!’ and I turned around and was like, ‘oh, duh, no wonder.’ πŸ™‚

3 Comments

Filed under Filipino Wedding, Friends, wedding, Wedding Essentials

3 responses to “Girlfriends + Printsonalities + Bob Nicolas + Videos

  1. Charley

    Thanks for crossing your fingers for us, Cathy. We got the Baguio reception venue, and I’m sooo relieved. At least that’s out of the way! Now onto the photographer, videographer and other suppliers. Here’s to more lunches, and wedding updates in the near future!

  2. beverly

    hi gurl,
    i think you’ve typed a wrong link for bob nicolas website.. i think the right one is bobnicolas.com thats w/o an “h”.
    other one is bobnicolas.com/blog

    he’s also our videographer.

    nice blog by the way, : )

  3. Thanks for pointing that out, Beverly! Drop by again and have a great time with the wedding planning and of course – the wedding!

    πŸ™‚ Cathy & Jay

Leave a Reply

