No Mimi and Karl + Superstitions

It was my friend (Karts’) birthday yesterday and we spent it at one of our fave eateries, Amici di Don Bosco.  It was nice cos we got a chance to see our other dear friend as well, Father Gustilo, as he is their resident ‘GRO’ at Amici (those are his words, not mine, I promise!).  Fantastic food, laidback location, great company, and a relaxed but intimate way to spend Karts’ birthday (click here for Amici video).  Ayos!

A look around the room last night was indicative of where Jay and I are headed 🙂 as almost everyone was married or engaged or in a serious relationship.  What’s even better was that our friends’ babies were in tow, so on the way home Jay and I remarked that we have now officially started attending parties that are kid-friendly… again, as a college girlfriend has said many times in response to me settling down (or is it getting the party started…? I think so!), ‘Cathy, it is the end of an era.’

(L to R) Karts, Me, Ana, Jenny, and Charley
blog.jpg

Sad news. Mimi and Karl, the photog team we had our eye on, is booked on our date already. I found this out today as I was trying to relax on the massage table so of course I spent the next 30 minutes texting back-and-forth with different suppliers to see who else they recommend – much to the chagrin of Susi, our knot detangler. I’m still waiting on one particular photog. Jay and I love his work samples online, we like the photojournalistic and non-traditional approach, and he answered my queries instantly (on a Sunday, at that!) so I hope that he is free on our date and that we can meet with him tomorrow so that we can get the videographer and the photog suppliers in the bag. Will post about that later this week, hopefully.

I was kinda freaked out that people who have our same day are already on the ball with suppliers and have gone as far as putting in their down payment for photogs and videogs and stuff… which means Jay and I probably should do the same thing. That’s why we feel the need to do it this week so that we can kind of cruise until August. 🙂 That’s our plan, at least. We can take our time in planning out the other details like church music, reception playlist, attend band and DJ sit-ins at night, all the details, so that not everything has to happen 3 months before.

OMG I was told last night by my friends (2 married, 1 engaged) that there are wedding superstitions regarding the bride’s dress in addition to the groom not seeing her in the dress the day of and before the bridal march! Click here for the litany of horror as posted on W@W. I am not entirely sure I can handle just trying on my lining… I’ll have to talk to Michi about this. Later. Much later. Right now the dress is still in its embryonic stage.

Fingers are crossed regarding our wedding photographer Plan B. He was referred to us by Mimi and Karl (Plan A) and to tell you the truth, I think I may like his eye a wee bit more, so it could be a blessing that our Plan A is booked already.

Toes crossed, too.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

