That Spirit of Christmas

Its only the first week of Christmas and we’ve already exchanged gifts. I couldn’t keep it any longer, the excitement and anticipation of seeing Cathy’s reaction to her gift was starting to become unbearable (also because I wanted to check out the gift itself as well). For my birthday earlier this year, Cathy got me a Holga 120cfn medium format camera, which started my whole photography/lomography craze. Easily the best birthday present. So I tried to return the favor and got her the new LC-A+. I love the idea that we both have our own LC-A’s and when we go on trips we can just snap away and compare photos later. But believe you me, it took all of me not to hand over the camera.

Not to be outdone, Cathy had a gift for me as well (courtesy of the Raymond sisters who brought it all the way from the US&A). Dave Chappelle’s Block Party DVD. It took awhile for it to show up on DVD after the movie released, but when it did I promised myself I would own a copy. But somewhere between the limited amount of quality DVDs in the Philippines and the limited amount of pirated DVDs in the Philippines, that promised got pushed towards the back of my mind. I was overjoyed when Cathy handed it over (inside I screamed like a school boy), I immediately popped it in the DVD player to watch.

From Him.
From Him.

From Her.
From Her.

In case you can’t read the marquee, it includes names like The Roots, Kanye West, Common, Erykah Badu, Mos Def, Talib Kweli, Jill Scott, and the reunion of The Fugees. Oh, and its also a film by Michel Gondry (Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Science of Sleep, the upcoming Be Kind Rewind). And look at that cover art! Classic.

That spirit of Christmas is in full effect!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “That Spirit of Christmas

  1. jenjen

    “(inside I screamed like a school boy),” school GIRL i bet. hahhaha!

  2. jay

    you’re lucky you’re all the way in the US&A…

Leave a Reply

